Latest News‎ > ‎

Jorvik Best Ever Yorkshire Championships

posted 5 Mar 2015, 13:51 by Team Jorvik   [ updated 28 Apr 2015, 07:24 ]
Building on last year's successes, this year the 11-strong contingent qualified for 34 events, with which they earned 11 places in the finals, and came away with a silver and a bronze medal. 

At the 50m sprints, there was early success with Joe Senior setting a 2 second personal best (PB) in the freestyle. Maximus Mawle competed in his first Yorkshires in freestyle and backstroke, whilst veteran Aidan Fothergill complimented this with three personal bests in the freestyle, breaststroke and butterfly. Rhiannon Wood set PB times in the freestyle and butterfly, whilst Maya Appleyard and Esme Littlewood setting big PBs in the backstroke. Zak Moorcroft qualified for all four discplines and set PBs in all qualifying for the fly, breaststroke and backstroke finals. Emily Hill set a big new PB in the 50m breaststroke, placing 12th. Max Nozedar qualified for the free, back and fly finals with PB times, improving his fly again in the final to finish joint 6th. Tom Watkins-Hargan swam in the backstroke and freestyle, setting best times. Tom's backstroke heat swim qualified him to swim in the final with Moorcroft – in which Tom earned 5th place and Zak won the silver medal.

In the longer events, Maya Appleyard was joined by Antonia Bunyan in the 100m backstroke, Bunyan qualifying for the first time. Emily Hill qualified for the 100m breaststroke and with a 3 second PB earned herself a place in the final. Zak Moorcroft competed in the 100m butterfly, the 200m breaststroke and 200m IM, setting best times in all three. At the end of an already very successful championship, Moorcroft won a bronze medal in the 100m backstroke. 

At the team events, Jorvik entered 5 teams who all swam excellently, some of the lead off legs being personal best times (Maximus, Tom and Maya, backstroke; Zak: freestyle). Those not already mentioned include Amy and Fay Clark, Emily Hope, Astrid Mawle, Georgia Kemp, Sam Enticknap, Joan Clayton, Jess Buckton, Phoebe & Will Holmes and Joseph Neary-Lamond. Of the 34 qualifications, there were 23 PBs from 26 swims (due to absence).